Learning Log- Flikr Slideshows

Culture 018Culture 017Culture 016Culture 015Culture 014Culture 011
Culture 010Culture 009Culture 008Culture 007Culture 006

angella0405’s photostream on Flickr.

In Frederick County, we teach the indicator, “LA.600.10.05 Evaluate the influence of culture, ethnicity, and historical era on the themes and issues of literary texts,” in sixth grade Language Arts.  Before my students are able to determine the influence of culture on a text, they have to first understand what “culture” means.

To introduce the concept or culture to my students I have always packed a backpack with tangible items that represent some of the cultures I am a part of . For example, my passport, to represent my love of travel. I “unpack” the backback and describe each of the cultures represented by the chosen objects. At the end of the demonstration, the students choose five cultures that they are a part of and visually depict them on a piece of construction paper. When they are finished, we tie them all together to create a “Culture Web” that shows the students how many cultures we all have in common.

The Flikr gallery I created is an alternative to actually bringing in the items that represent my cultures. I was thinking that if I shared this gallery with my students, perhaps they could all send pictures that respresent their cultures and we could create a new set to share with our class , as a slide show, instead of the web.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katekennedy30
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 18:33:00

    I love this idea, Angella. So much of what we can do as LA teachers revolves around voice and identity, and you’ve found a really simple and compelling way to help students explore both. At the same time, you will be addressing technology standards by having students create their own culture images. I love this!
    – Kate

    Reply

  2. slm508kaf
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 03:07:00

    Great thinking! This is an early alternative to having the kids bring in the items and you can play the slideshow for the class to discuss the culture.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

